Last Fall, I found this  Cabinet on Craigslist. Oh, how I wish I had a “before” picture to show you!! It was very dark brown wood, with glass front doors and very, very smelly!!  Of course, I had other plans for it!! I really wanted it to look kind of “Frenchy”. At first, I actually painted it blue! But it looked awful, to be honest. The blue was just the wrong blue!  So, in the end, I decided that I just can’t go wrong with a creamy color, so I painted it again!! And here is the result…….

french cabinet # 1

Once I removed all the glass front off of the doors, I purchased chicken wire, and stapled it. I then painted over the wire with the same paint.

french cabinet closed with blue candle

Here’s a close up of the chicken wire “doors”, that were glass, once upon a time!!  I left  most everything white/off white, with the exception of the lovely blue-jeweled candle, that my sister gave me.  I love it!! Actually, she had given me one as a gift, and it had broken! I almost cried- I HATED to tell her what had happened. But, just like the loving sister that she is, she “replaced” it, with one that she had purchased for herself. I hated to take it from her, but she insisted that I  take it and to this day, I guard it with my life practically. !!! Someday, Im going to find her a similar one for her  home, because she L O V E S Blue!!!

It kind of breaks up all of the white.

french cabinet left side opened up

And here above, is a pic when the doors are opened.  I even placed a little chandelier over my pedestal plate. Sometimes, I plug it into the wall for “Ambiance”. I purchased those French script cans for my silverware at Marshall’s.

french cabinet right side closed up

Here’s a close up of the other side.  Again, I kept it pretty neutral. You know, one of these days I just know I’m going to begin adding more color!! But for now, I really love neutrals.

french cabinet right side opened up

Here it is again, with the doors open. The light green pedestal plates are newer, but they remind me of the green depression glass.

french cabinet heart close up

And I love hanging little fun pieces over the front like this Heart.  Unfortunately, last week, the other heart on the other side of the cabinet broke!!  I was “heart broken” !!!! And no pun intended!!!

So, I just wanted to share with you that with a little effort, creativity, and time, you can transform any piece into quite a genuine piece too.!!

xoxo,

Martha